Skip to page body Home About Us What's New Residents Business Government I Want To…

Boards and Commissions

The following Boards and Commissions are comprised of citizen volunteers. The Mayor and the Board of Trustees nominate and approve individuals who have both the experience and interest to serve on these Boards. Vacancies are filled on an as needed basis. Individuals who serve the Village in this capacity find the experience to be both challenging and rewarding. Volunteer work is an invaluable part of our government process. If you are interested in serving on a Board or Commission, click here or contact Doreen Jarosz at 847/818-5300. 

Meeting dates are subject to change. Please confirm dates on the Village Calendar.

Audit Committee

Meets at least twice a year corresponding with the work on the annual audit.
Staff Contact: David Erb, 847/392-6000
Chairperson: Tom Munz
Purpose: To further enhance the independence of the external audit by providing a direct link between the auditor, corporate authorities and Village management. The committee is advisory in nature and intended to assist the corporate authorities in obtaining and monitoring the Village's annual audit and to ensure a fair and accurate presentation of the Village's financial statements.

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

Meets monthly; schedule determined by Commission. Meetings held at the Police and Fire Headquarters, 112 E. Northwest Highway.
Staff Contact: Diane Rhode, 847/870-5678
Chairperson: George K. Busse
Purpose: To prepare and conduct competitive examinations for the appointment of Police Officers and Firefighter/Paramedics, as well as promotions within those departments. The Board also conducts hearings relative to disciplinary matters.

Citizen Corps Commission

Staff Contact: Fire Chief John Malcolm, 847/870-5660
Purpose: to promote and enhance homeland security by providing a means of communication and coordination among the various citizen corps programs throughout the Village of Mount Prospect.

Community Relations Commission

Meets the second Thursday of the month, as needed, at 7:00 p.m. at Village Hall.
Staff Contact: Deputy Police Chief John Wagner, 847/870-5656
Chairperson: Rev. Anthony Tolbert, III
Purpose: The mission of the Community Relations Commission shall be to promote and foster understanding, mutual respect, cooperation and positive relations between and among all residents of Mount Prospect regardless of race, color, sexual orientation, religion, gender, age, disability, national origin or ancestry to the end that a sense of shared community among all residents is strengthened, the value of each individual is affirmed and the constitutional rights of all are realized. This commission is also responsible for Community Development Block Grant Funds, and for the provisions of the Fair Housing Ordinance.

Economic Development Commission

Meets the third Thursday of the month at 8:00 a.m. at Village Hall.
Staff Contact: Bill Cooney, 847/392-6000
Chairperson: David Lindgren
Purpose: To encourage and facilitate economic growth throughout the Village and to advise the Mayor and Board of Trustees on economic development goals and objectives. The Commission's main functions include business retention, business attraction, and marketing of the Village.

Finance Commission

Meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at Village Hall.
Staff Contact: Finance Director Dave Erb, 847/392-6000
Chairperson: Vince Grochocinski
Purpose: To advise and assist the Mayor and Board of Trustees in the maintenance of a sound tax structure and overall fiscal policy.

Planning and Zoning Commission

Meets the second and fourth Thursdays of the month at 7:30 p.m. in the Village Board Room of Village Hall (televised meeting).
Staff Contact: Consuelo Andrade, 847/392-6000
Chairperson: Joseph P. Donnelly 
Purpose: To prepare a comprehensive plan for the present and future development of the Village. In addition, this Commission is responsible for the maintenance and improvement of the Development Code. To hold public hearings on requests for amendments to the Zoning Code and to mediate requests for variation from the Zoning Code.

Sister Cities Commission 

Meets the third Thursday of every other month (January, March, May, July, September, November), at 5:30 p.m. in the Executive Conference Room, 3rd Floor of Village Hall. Special meetings may be called as needed.
Staff Contact: Marianthi Thanopoulos, 847/392-6000
Vice-Chairperson: Judy Thorne (acting chair until position is filled)
Purpose: To recommend policies and programs to enhance the Village's participation in the Sister Cities International Organization and to maintain any relationship the Village might establish with a Sister City. The sole objective of the Commission and the program is to promote goodwill and international understanding.

Special Events Commission

Meets the first Saturday of the month at 9:00 a.m. at Village Hall.
Staff Contact: Mike Janonis, 847/392-6000
Chairpersons: Fred Steinmiller & Teresa VanOpdorp
Purpose: To create and sponsor activities, celebrations, and observances for the enjoyment and education of the residents of the Village and visitors to our Village.

Transportation Safety Commission

Meets the second Monday of the month, as needed, at 7:00 p.m. at the Emergency Operations Center Building, 1720 W. Central Road.
Staff Contact: Traffic Engineer Matt Lawrie, 847/870-5640
Chairperson: John Keane
Purpose: To assist, inform and advise the Village’s staff and elected officials on matters pertaining to the transportation of people and materials within the Village, between the Village and adjoining municipalities, and throughout the northeastern Illinois region as it affects the residents of our Village

Youth Commission (Inactive)

Centennial Commission

Meets the 1st Wednesday of every other month (January, March, May, July, September, November) in the Executive Conference Room, 3rd Floor of Village Hall.
Staff Contacts: Marianthi Thanopoulos, 847/392-6000; Mike Janonis, 847/392-6000
Chairperson: Jean Murphy
Purpose: To plan and promote a coordinated effort to celebrate the Village of Mount Prospect's centennial year

Last updated: 9/22/2014 3:43:30 PM